10 thoughts on “Spending Freeze: Day 5

  1. Spent a lot of time outside this beautiful weekend. Went to the Burr Oak with my dog and spent time with family and friends.
    The biggest thing I have learned about my spending is I go to the store or eating out when I crave something rather than eating what I have available.

  2. I have learned that saving is a gift I possess, and I look forward to paydays so I can put more in savings. Nerd alert! This weekend, I channelled my inner 1950s self, and handwashed all my dishes…mainly because our dishwasher broke 🙂 Normally, we would have had the discussion of where to but a new dishwasher, but due to the freeze, we of course handwashed. I guess he thinks we will be buying a new appliance next weekend, but I am on a roll! We didn’t have a dishwasher growing up, and there were 5 of us kids! So I am rolling up my sleeves and washing dishes for a while! Who needs a dishwasher!

  3. Every penny counts!
    I had to run an errand earlier today, and I thought of running throug Starbucks. Nope!

    Being mindful of the freeze and thinking of this challenge as a “saving goal” instead of a “spending freeze” has made a big difference.

    Our weekend may not have included the usual options, but we have been happy and healthy throughout and that is what counts!

  4. I work through the weekends (my off days are Monday/Tuesday) so I kept to the grind! Hopefully the weather stays nice for me through the next few days. 😃
    We ran out of eggs this morning, which is really disappointing. I love eggs for breakfast! I miscalculated how much food we’d need (or how much we eat out!) So. Cereal for the rest of the week!

    • We have two teens (part time) .. Ran out of milk today. I swear they drank the one gallon in two days! Thy have already switched to drinking tea or water.. Hmm.. Maybe it’s not such a bad thing!

  5. new thoughts on spending habits…
    I don’t need to grocery shop or buy as much as I have in the past. I did not really plan the meals for the 10 day freeze, so the adventure has been ‘what’s in the freezer/pantry?”. I am really pleased how my husband and I have worked together in figuring out the meals.

    Also, keeping track of any expense on auto-pay. I need to quit my gym pass and use the DVD’s that are gathering dust on the shelf.

    Onward to better financial health!

Leave a Reply

