A note from our Spending Freeze winner, Tricia Morgan

My name is Tricia and I am the winner of $300 from the Missouri Credit Union 10 Day Spending Freeze Contest. You might think that’s a lot of money! What is a college senior going to do with that? Well, let me tell you. That is how the journey began for myself. I thought “10 days… no spending money… what would I do with the money?” I then realized that I should probably plan for my 10 days of not spending. So, I did what any decent human would do: I filled up my gas tank, meal prepped as much as I could, and set reminders to write on the blog post every day. Around the second day of no spending, still contemplating on where the money should go, I received a e-mail from an organization I am in “Relay for Life Steering Committee” reminding us of what is going on in the Relay world. Then an imaginary light bulb went off in my head, I haven’t fundraised all of my goal yet for the Relay for Life walk, so what better way to raise my goal then to win the money!? It started out as a thought as simple as that, but then it became much more. I had my post shared by many of my friends, co-workers, sorority sisters, and my family, some guy from West Virginia was tweeting the link who I’ve never even met before. We were all staying up avoiding homework, first rounds, and messaging anyone who was online to go vote. Countless times I was asked, “is this really you or spam?” Relay members were coming up with ideas, Oreo balls if I won were thrown out there, and so much support from this organization. I then realized I wasn’t just raising money for my goal I was raising awareness. Our lovely advisor Emily really got to me when she was sharing my link and it read “That’s money that would give one cancer patient and their caregiver free lodging if they had to travel for treatment or would give 24 women one on one counseling during their cancer journey”. Can you believe that?! With so little effort I raised awareness and provided that? I can’t wait to see what we can do together before our walk at Mizzou on April 24th. I couldn’t be more privileged to donate this money instantly back to the American Cancer Society. For something that started out as raising money, this did so much more.

****

To donate to Tricia’s team, click here.

Leave a Reply

